Ancient Grains: Farro

farro salad

This week we introduced a new grain to our menu with our rainbow farro salad with peppers, red onions, walnuts, dried apricot, lemon agave dressing, and fresh herbs.

While everyone else is going #glutenfree to follow the health trends (besides those with medical reasons, that we understand..) we’re going to bring #ancientgrains back into the spotlight with Italian Farro! 

Find Italian Farro dishes on our winter meal prep  menu

Find Italian Farro dishes on our winter meal prep menu

Farro is made from the ancient wheat grains emmer, einkorn, or spelt that date back to the Fertile Crescent and ancient Roman Empire. This grain is a great alternative to the commonly used quinoa and rice to add variety into your diet. It is packed with fiber, iron, B-vitamins, zinc, magnesium, antioxidants + phenolic compounds, and is said to be lower in gluten and easier to digest than other grains. It is also a great source of plant based protein. ..

Now for those who are medically gluten free or gluten sensitive similar grains that can be experimented with and have a great nutritional profile are buckwheat, amaranth, or wild rice, and quinoa. 

What’s the difference between Farro and rice? 

They are both considered cereal crops. Farro is a wheat grain, "Botanically, this grain is a type of fruit known as a caryopsis, and it contains three parts such as the endosperm, germ, and bran" while rice belongs to the grass species Oryza sativa. Nutritionally speaking Farro out performs brown rice or pasta. This ancient grain is packed with more fiber + protein for the same amount of calories per cup. 

 

Learn more with these links: 

http://www.differencebetween.com/difference-between-rice-and-vs-wheat/

https://www.consumerreports.org/diet-nutrition/farro-vs-brown-rice-whole-grains/

https://bengreenfieldfitness.com/article/nutrition-articles/eat-wheat-a-scientific-and-clinically-proven-approach-to-safely-bringing-wheat-and-dairy-back-into-your-diet/